Cruising Milano Style

A bit of Milan in San FranciscoOne of the things that I love about teaching is that I’m constantly learning random trivia facts from my students.  So the other day I was talking to one of my classes about sightseeing in San Francisco and the “must see” things they have to do if they go there.  I gave them a list of places to visit, neighborhoods to wander around, foods they have to eat and of course taking a ride on a traditional San   Francisco cable car.  One of my students cleared his throat and said “Well, I don’t know how traditional they really are.  Don’t you know that some of the street cars in San Francisco come from Milan?”  I had to stop and think about this.  Yes, some of the trams here in Milan are very similar to some of the streetcars back in SFO, but I had to double-check this.  So I went to SFMTA website http://www.sfmta.com (San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency) and sure enough, you San Franciscans are riding around in yellow and white Milano trams which were built-in 1928.  Many people from San Francisco who come to Milan think that Milan bought the trams from San Francisco, but I’m sorry, it’s the other way around.  So if you want to cruise around Italian style and you can’t afford a Ferrari you can always catch one of these yellow and white streetcars. There are nine of them running to Fisherman’s Warf:  Lines 1811, 1814, 1815, 1818, 1856, 1859, 1888, 1893, 1895.  See, you learn something new everyday!

Leave a Reply

