La Rinascente

After a long, half a year break from my blog I have finally gotten back my motivation (and time management) to start writing again.  A lot has happened in my life in the past six months but one thing has always remained the same….my love affair with food!  The main change that has taken place is that back in February I found my first full-time job.  For the first time in my post-college life I was faced with working 40+ hours a week and it was a huge adjustment for me.  I know, I know, this is probably something normal for most of you, but it really took me some time to get used to it.  After years of teaching, getting my masterinar’s degree and moving around five Italian cities it was a big step for me to “settle down” and dedicate so much of my time to a single job.  So what is the company that won me over?  La Rinascente.  It is the oldest Italian department store that dates back to 1865.  You’re probably thinking what does fashion have to do with food?  Well, not much, but at the top of this upscale store you stumble upon the Rinascente Food Market and that is where you’ll find me.  I’m completing an 18 month training program to become floor manager of a foodie’s paradise.  We sell the Gucci’s and Armani’s of the food world.  You can find everything from truffles, to world-class olive oils, $300 bottles of water, design chocolate, balsamic vinegars, pastas, cookies, jams, prosciuttos, cheeses, and the list just goes on and on.  Now the Italian word Rinascente comes from the verb ‘rinascere’ meaningChocolate to be born again.  In a way I feel that this has been my Italian “rebirth”.  After 5 years in Italy moving around, I now have a steady job where I have a legal contract, pay taxes and have a pension fund, something that you can only dream about as an English teacher.  I am facing the new challenges of working in a foreign language but I’m excited about finally starting down my career path in the gastronomic field.  There are times when I miss teaching and the convenience of working when I choose to, taking long summer vacations and of course all of my wonderful students but I’ve realized that my time as an English teacher in Italy has come to an end.  The first course is over and it’s time to move on to the main dish.  I’ve finally found my way into the Italian “foodie” world and the future is looking oh so sweet!

(View of Duomo from the terrace)

Duomo

Leave a Reply

